“Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful.”
– William Morris.

There’s a good chance that you have too much stuff. This could be a hidden source of stress in your life. I’m fortunate in that my lifestyle forces me to have little in the way of material possessions, unless I want to pay through the nose for extra baggage allowance on my flights. I’m currently living with under a hundred possessions. It seems to be a bit of a trend at the moment to live with only a certain number of possessions (add links).
Here are three reasons to de-clutter now:

1. Make/save money
Selling off your excess stuff will give you a nice injection of cash. Try to not just go off and buy extra stuff! If you do feel like spending it, use it to buy an experience rather than an object.
A lot of stuff also costs a lot to keep: maintenance, space and time. If you no longer have it, you no longer have to worry about it.

2. More freedom
Through necessity everything I own fits into a couple of bags. It’s a very refreshing thought that I could literally pick up my material  life and move on at a moments notice. That said, carrying it all through South East Asia wasn’t easy!

3. More Focus
A lot of the stuff we have distract us. We recently unplugged our T.V. and mothballed it. If you only surround yourself with the things you actually need and enjoy using, then you’re less likely to waste time of other pursuits that aren’t as important to you.

What benefits have you found to having less stuff in your life?

