“Those who contemplate the beauty of the earth find reserves of strength that will endure as long as life lasts.” – Rachel Carson

I’ve decided to put more effort into saving money. All my day-to-day spending is on food and drink. The most obvious thing I could drop is the lunchtime hot beverage. So during my lunch break today, instead of sitting in the cafe sipping something hot and watching the world go by, I decided to explore a nearby park.

Despite the title, it is in no-way secret. It’s overlooked by apartments and office buildings in one of the most densely populated parts of the world. Regardless,  its hidden it’s treasures well from me. A bus route that takes me home goes around the park and there was little indication of what it was like. Today I found out.

Strolling around the serene lake, smelling the scents of the water, flowers and soul, with the wind against my face, I felt more connected to nature that I have done for a while. It was strange have this re-connection surrounded by apartments and R&D centres. Nonetheless, watching a great blue heron sitting perfectly still upon a rock, waiting for fish, gave me an immense sense of calm and well-being.

We live lives so disconnected from the natural world. Try and do something to reconnect. Walk barefoot on grass. Crouch down to smell the flowers that line the path. Feel the roughness of a tree’s bark. Watch birds flit from tree to tree. Remind yourself that there is so much more to life that the daily grind we usually wrap ourselves up in.

